New Bishop of Puttur

30 September 2017


H.E. Most Rev. Dr Geevarghese Mar Makarios was coronated as the new Bishop of Puttur diocese during the Holy Eucharistic Celebration and a programme was organized thereafter to congratulate the new Bishop on September 30 at St Mary’s Cathedral church, Noojibalthila. His Beatitude Moran Mor Baselior Cardinal Cleemis Catholicos, the Major Archbishop of the Syro-Malankara Catholic Church and the President of CBCI presided over the function. Arch bishop of Bangalore H. G Bernard Mores, Archbishop Thomas Mar Koorilos of Tiruvalla, Bishops, Superior Generals, Vicar Generals, priests, sisters, Mr. Ivan D’Souza, Chief whip of Karnataka state legislative council, Mr. P P Verghese, zilla panchayat member, Dr Lovely Eldos, KRCB Women’s Commission regional secretary, Taluk panchayat member Mr. Ganesh Kaikure, Noojibalthila gram panchayat president, Sadanand Gowda Santyadka and others were present in the function. Rev. Fr. Eldo Puttankandathil, proto vicar of Shivamogga, honoured the retired Bishop Most Rev. Geevarghese Mar Divannasios on that occasion. Fr Peter John OIC, Dakshina Kannada district proto vicar, did the welcome speech and the General Convenor of the function, Fr Philip Nellivila, proposed vote of thanks.